Sunday, December 24, 2006

Corus 2007

One of the strongest chess tournament will be held on 13-28th January in Wijk an Zee, Netherlands. WCN admins Carla Amse and Bogdan Girmacea will be at the site to provide reports and photos. We're hoping for some audio interviews as well. IM Miodrag Perunovic will analyse games in his round by round reports to be posted every day in WCN News.

GM Veselin Topalov (BUL 2813), GM Viswanathan Anand (IND 2779), GM Vladimir Kramnik (RUS 2750), GM Peter Svidler (RUS 2750), GM Levon Aronian (ARM 2741), GM Teymour Radjabov (AZE 2729), GM David Navara (CZE 2725), GM Alexey Shirov (ESP 2720), GM Ruslan Ponomariov (UKR 2703), GM Magnus Carlsen (NOR 2698), GM Sergey Tiviakov (NED 2680), GM Loek van Wely (NED 2676), GM Sergey Karjakin (UKR 2672) and GM Alexander Motylev (RUS 2662)

Once again, WCN asked GM Alex Finkel to write one of his excellent preview articles:
"Indeed, it’s been a while since we have seen Kramnik, Topalov and Anand competing head to head in the same event. Add to it three brightest young talents Radjabov, Carlsen and Karjakin, ever brilliant Svidler, Aronian and Shirov, rising star of the modern chess David Navara (replacing Morozevich, which had withdrawn for the personal reasons, even though the rumors circulating in the chess world strongly imply that he is just not ready to play in the same event with Topalov!), former world champion Ruslan Ponomariov, two best Dutch players Wan Vely and Tiviakov, the winner of last year tournament "B" Alexander Motylev (who happens to be Kramnik’s second!) and you’ve got a perfect recipe for a perfect tournament!"

WorldChessNetwork broadcast schedule:
Saturday, January 13th at 7:30 est - audio comments by IM Irina Krush
Sunday, January 14th at 7:30 est - audio comments by GM Larry Christiansen
Monday, January 15th at 7:30 est - TBA

January 13th Update: Most of the games have finished in quick draws, the only winner was Teimour Radjabov playing Kings Indian against Van Wely.

Magnus Carlsen

Veselin Topalov - Alexander Motylev draw
Loek van Wely - Teimour Radjabov 0-1
Sergey Karjakin - Vladimir Kramnik draw
Alexey Shirov - Peter Svidler draw
Sergei Tiviakov - Magnus Carlsen draw
David Navara - Levon Aronian draw
Ruslan Ponomariov - Vishy Anand draw

1st Round Review by IM Miodrag Perunovic

No comments: