Friday, February 08, 2013

Asian Zone 3.2 Championship in Sri Lanka

Asian Zonal Chess Championship 2013 for Zone 3.2 started on February 3 at the Mas Park Guest House, Thulhiriya in Sri Lanka with 4 Grandmasters, 1 IM and 2 WIMs among 46 participants.

Grandmasters Ziaur Rahman, Niaz Murshed, Ennamul Hussain and Reefat Bin-Satter of Bangladesh, IM Mahmood Lodhi of Pakistan, FMs Sunil Weeramantry (Sri Lanka) and Sujendra Shrestha are among the players.

Participants from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, Maldives and Sri Lanka are competing in the Championship.

WIMs Sachini Ranasinghe (Defending Champion from Sri Lanka) and Akter Liza Shammima are among the 12 players playing in the Women's Chess Championships for Zone 3.2.

The Championship is organized by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka.

No comments: