Tuesday, June 05, 2012

Mikhail Tal Memorial 2012

The 7th Mikhail Tal Memorial will take place from 7th to 19th June, 2012, in Moscow, Russia.

Magnus Carlsen, Vladimir Kramnik, Levon Aronian, Teimour Radjabov, Hikaru Nakamura, Fabiano Caruana, Alexander Morozevich, Alexander Grischuk, Evgeny Tomashevsky and winner of the voting contest Luke McShane participate in the round robin tournament.

The Tal Memorial is the first major competition in the chess calendar after the World Championship match and the first test for the world's leading grandmasters before the Candidates Tournament.

The opening ceremony will be held on 7th June, at 18.00, in the playing venue at Pashkov House, st. Vozdvizhenka 3/5.

The organizers have come up with a unique idea to replace the usual drawing of lots. The participants will play a blitz tournament, with a separate prize fund, and the main tournament starting numbers will be assigned according to the places taken in the blitz standings.

The previous edition was held in November 2011, when Magnus Carlsen and Levon Aronian shared the first place with 5.5/9 points each. Carlsen took the trophy on better tie-break.

No comments: